

# KILLAY COMMUNITY COUNCIL

# (CYNGOR CYMUNED CILÂ)

# MINUTES: ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING – 29<sup>th</sup> May 2024 6.45pm Multi-location meetings

# Wednesday 29th May 2024

| Attendance in person                     |                                      |
|--|--------------------------------------|
| Councillor Nigel Fletcher                | Councillor Peta Walsh                |
| Councillor Sue John                      | Councillor Sarah Gee                 |
| Councillor Jan Evans                     | Councillor Mary Jones                |
| Councillor Jim Robinson                  | Councillor Dawn Morse                |
| Councillor Linda Aubrey                  |                                      |
|  | Youth Representative Maria Jefferies |
| Attendance remotely                      |                                      |
| Councillor Beth Rowe                     | Councillor Joanne Fitton             |
| Councillor Rhiannon Barrar               | Councillor Mary Idris                |
| Clerk to the Council Sue Bagley (Partly) |                                      |

The Clerk, Mrs Sue Bagley, opened the meeting. Prior to the start she thanked the outgoing Chairman Cllr Nigel Fletcher for his hard work and help he has given to her over the past year.

# 1. Apologies for absence (received from)

Councillor Tyrone Lewis;

#### 2 Election of Chairman

The Clerk requested proposals for Chair of KCC.

Two councillors were nominated and seconded. Jim Robinson and Mary Jones.

An open vote was held and Councillor Jim Robinson was elected by majority (7 to 6) as Chairman of Killay Community Council - Councillor Robinson took over the chair.

Following the appointment of the chair the Clerk left the meeting due to unforeseen circumstances.

# 3. Election of Vice Chairman

Councillor Mary Jones was unanimously elected as Vice Chairman having been approved by full Council.

# 4. Election of Responsible Financial Officer

Mrs Sue Bagley was appointed as Responsible Financial Officer.

# 5. Appointment of Internal Auditor.

Mr Ron Dolbear was appointed as KCC Internal Auditor

#### 6. Election of Finance Committee

Cllr Jim Robinson (Chairman), Cllr Mary Jones (Vice chairman), Cllr Sue John and Cllr Joanne Fitton were elected to the Finance Committee and will be carrying out the internal audit function as per Audit and Account Regulations 1996, plus major financial decisions prior to approval by full Council. Mrs Sue Bagley (Clerk) attends the Finance Committee meetings as Responsible Financial Officer.

#### 7. Election of Councillors for:

## (a) Planning Committee (4 Councillors)

Cllrs Joanne Fitton; Sara Gee & Mary Idris. Linda Aubrey.

# (b) Social Media & Marketing Committee (5 Councillors)

Cllrs Jim Robinson; Mary Idris, Bethany Rowe. Two vacancies to be filled.

## (c) Gardening Committee (5 Councillors)

Cllrs Jan Evans; Sue John; Peta Walsh; Dawn Morse; Mary Jones

#### (d) Public Rights of Way Committee (4 Councillors)

Cllrs Rhiannon Barrar; Sara Gee, Bethany Rowe. Nigel Fletcher

Sub-committees are to appoint their own chairperson and notify Full Council at the June meeting. Any additional members to each committee can be added at the next meeting.

#### 8. Signing of Declaration of Office

CC M Jones pointed out to Council that there was no need to read and sign the Declaration of Office at each AGM.

It was agreed that the Declaration of Office would only be read and signed at the start of a term of office, unless we have a new candidate for Community Councillor

# 9. Acceptance of 2023/2024 annual report

The Annual Report 2023/2024, prepared by Cllr Fletcher which has been circulated to all Councillors was accepted. The annual report will be made available on the website and a link put on Facebook in due course.

The report was agreed and accepted by full Council.

# **10 Review of Standing Orders**

Minutes: Annual General Meeting

Cllr Robinson stated that the Standing Orders did need a review and that as this would take time, it was decided that a sub committee be arranged to discuss this item.

Cllr J Fitton; L Aubrey; Jones; R Barrar and M Jones would liaise and arrange a meeting.

Cllr Fitton will arrange a date and notify those involved.

| 11. Review of Training Plan.  |  |
|---|--|
| Deferred to main meeting.   |  |
| 12. Youth Representative  |  |
| Maria Jefferies is currently our Youth Representative - there is one other vacancy.   |  |
| 13. School Governors  |  |
| Both school governors are part way through a fixed term of office.  For the record Cllr Fitton is Governor of Dunvant Junior School and Cllr Barrar is Governor of Hendrefoilan Primary School. |  |
| The AGM closed at 7:00 pm   |  |
| Killaycommunitycouncil.comSigned. 29 <sup>th</sup> May 2024 (Chair)   |  |

Minutes: Annual General Meeting